Nominations Now Being Accepted for the Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Award

Nominations are now being accepted for The Euan P. McFarlane Award to recognize outstanding environmental leadership in the Insular Caribbean. The McFarlane Award was established in 1987 to provide recognition for persons demonstrating initiative, resourcefulness and leadership in promoting conservation and enhancement of the environment in the insular Caribbean, with priority given to the smaller islands of the eastern Caribbean.

Endowment funding for the award was provided by the late Laurance S. Rockefeller, and the program was initially administered by Island Resources Foundation (from 1987-2014).  The McFarlane Leadership Award is now managed by the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands (CFVI) as a part of its programming of support to youth, learning, families and the environment.

Nominees for the McFarlane Award should be persons who have applied themselves to the preservation of the natural or built environment on one or more of the small islands of the Caribbean and whose career or avocation demonstrates an appreciation of and support for the advancement of environmental stewardship and balanced development in the Caribbean.


Any resident of a Caribbean island is eligible for nomination, although priority consideration will be given to residents of the smaller eastern Caribbean islands. Any interested individual or organization familiar with the nominee may make a nomination.  Self-nominations will not be accepted.


Each selected McFarlane Award recipient will receive an unrestricted US$1,000 cash award.


Nominations, not to exceed three single-spaced typed pages, should state the background, accomplishments, and merits of the person nominated.  The nominator must supply the names, addresses, telephone numbers and email addresses of at least 3 other persons familiar with the nominee’s work and accomplishments, who could be contacted for additional information.  Attachments that support the nomination (e.g., press clippings, testimonials, letters of endorsement, etc.), not to exceed five pages, may accompany the letter but are not required and cannot be returned. Nominations are preferred as e-mails and attachments, sent to:


Nominations will be reviewed by an Advisory Committee of individuals familiar with the region, and the award will be based on an assessment of how well the nominee meets the following general criteria:

·           Nominee’s role in increasing public awareness about conservation issues.

·           Nominee’s achievements in helping to formulate public policy that balances economic development objectives with sustainable development goals.

·           Nominee’s accomplishments in strengthening public or private sector institutions and organizations concerned with conservation, preservation, or resource management issues.

·           Nominee’s role in developing, promoting, or assisting programs or policies which conserve or protect key elements of the natural or built environment in the Caribbean.

·           Nominee’s potential for future environmental leadership in the insular Caribbean.

Send Nominations To: 

Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award 
Attention:  Khadija de Lagarde, Grants and Programs Manager
Post Office Box 380, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands 00804
Telephone: 340-774-6031

Nominations must be postmarked by, 
or emailed, no later than

15 December 2018


YearRecipientIsland YearRecipientIsland
1988Yves RenardSt. Lucia 2003Dr. Brian CooperAntigua
1989Mervin WilliamsSt. Lucia 2004Dr. Joth SinghBarbados
1990Ronald CharlesArlington JamesDominica 2005Diana McCaulayJamaica
1991Alissandra CumminsBarbados 2006Raymond WalkerBritish Virgin Islands
1992-93Kevel C. LindsayAntigua 2007Dr. I. Earle A. KirbySt. Vincent
1994-95Jalaludin Ahmad KhanTrinidad 2008-09Rueben J. ThompsonSint Maarten
1996-97Reginald MurphyMaurice WiddowsonAntiguaSt. Kitts 2010Albert Hugh “Errol” HarrisDominica
1998Andrew SimpsonUS Virgin Islands 2011-12Karim HodgeAnguilla
1999Ian LambieTrinidad 2013Patricia TurpinTobago
2000David RobinsonNevis 2014John MussingtonBarbuda
2001Charles ChavoudigaGuadeloupe 2015Kester CharlesGrenada
2002Jacqueline and Larry
St. Kitts 2016Tadzio BervoetsSint Maarten


For more than 25 years the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands has been a catalyst for positive change in the Territory through initiatives committed to youth, learning, family support and the environment. With a professional staff and a volunteer Board of Directors composed of community leaders, CFVI is a trusted advocate and supporter of programs that ensure opportunity and sustainability for current and future generations. Most recently, CFVI has been serving as a vehicle for receiving and distributing funds to support hurricane relief efforts throughout the Territory. In addition to providing administrative oversight to over 100 named funds, and programs, CFVI is focused on meeting the emergency, immediate and long-term needs of children, youth and families in the aftermath of two Category 5 hurricanes. CFVI is a registered non-profit organization entirely supported by individual donors, grants, trusts, corporate donations and estate planning.

Categories: CFVI Highlights

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: