Tadzio Bervoets Receives 2016 Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award

The Advisory Committee of the Euan McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award of the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands (Grantor) is pleased to announce the selection of Mr. Tadzio Bervoets in recognition of his important work as a dedicated and passionate Caribbean conservationist.

Recipients of the McFarlane Award are recognized to be persons who have applied themselves to the preservation of the natural or built environment on one or more of the small islands of the Caribbean and whose career or avocation demonstrates an appreciation of and support for the advancement of environmental stewardship and balanced development in the Caribbean. The Committee believes that presentation of the McFarlane Award to Mr. Bervoets (for the amount of $1,000) will boost conservation efforts in St. Maarten and promote recognition of the challenges faced by the region.

Mr. Bervoets was nominated by colleagues, who highlighted his policy and management skills and experience as demonstrated at local, national, and regional levels. Mr. Bervoets has both created and revitalized environmental institutions in St. Maarten, including the Ocean Care Foundation, the St. Maarten Nature Federation, the Reef Check Program in St. Maarten, and the Sea Scouts Program to teach local children about the marine environment. In addition, he helped to establish the territory’s first protected area, promoted enactment of species-specific legislation, successfully lobbied for the establishment of Mullet Pond as a Ramsar site of international importance, and serves as chair of the Dutch Caribbean Nature Alliance that supports conservation organizations in Bonaire, Aruba, Curacao, Saba, and St. Eustatius.

The Euan P. McFarlane Award was established in 1987 to provide recognition for persons demonstrating initiative, resourcefulness and leadership in promoting conservation and enhancement of the environment in the insular Caribbean, with priority given to the smaller islands of the eastern Caribbean. Endowment funding for the award was provided by the late Laurance S. Rockefeller, and the program was initially administered by Island Resources Foundation from 1987-2014.  The McFarlane Leadership Award is now managed by the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands as a part of its program of support to youth, learning, family support and the environment.


Year Recipient Island   Year Recipient Island
1988 Yves Renard St. Lucia   2003 Dr. Brian Cooper Antigua
1989 Mervin Williams St. Lucia   2004 Dr. Joth Singh Barbados
1990 Ronald Charles

Arlington James

Dominica   2005 Diana McCaulay Jamaica
1991 Alissandra Cummins Barbados   2006 Raymond Walker British Virgin Islands
1992-93 Kevel C. Lindsay Antigua   2007 Dr. I. Earle A. Kirby St. Vincent
1994-95 Jalaludin Ahmad Khan Trinidad   2008-09 Rueben J. Thompson St. Maarten
1996-97 Reginald Murphy

Maurice Widdowson


St. Kitts

  2010 Albert Hugh “Errol” Harris Dominica
1998 Andrew Simpson US Virgin Islands   2011-12 Karim Hodge Anguilla
1999 Ian Lambie Trinidad   2013 Patricia Turpin Tobago
2000 David Robinson Nevis   2014 John Mussington Barbuda
2001 Charles Chavoudiga Guadeloupe   2015 Kester Charles Grenada
2002 Jacqueline and Larry
St. Kitts   2016 Tadzio Bervoets St. Maarten

Categories: CFVI Highlights

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: