CFVI Awards $88,735 in 2015 Scholarships to 54 Virgin Islands Student

2015 Scholarship Recipients

The Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands (CFVI) held their 2015 Scholarship Award reception on St. Thomas on Thursday, August 6, 2015 at My Brother’s Workshop Cafe in Bakery Square. Dee Baecher-Brown, president of CFVI welcomed the recipients and their parents, scholarship donors, and scholarship committee members to the reception.

George H. T. Dudley, Chairman of the CFVI Board, announced the award of 54 scholarships to Virgin Islands students, for a total of $88,735. Scholarships awarded included the Lana Vento Fund for the VI Scholarship which provided scholarship money both to graduate and undergraduate students. The focus of this scholarship is to support those who are the first in their family to attend college and students who may have a particular interest in Marine or Environmental Science. Additionally CFVI awarded ten scholarships to students from the Anna Greene Walsh Fund. Anna Walsh retired to the Territory after a long career in social work in New York. Upon her passing, it was discovered that she left her entire inheritance to benefit students in the Territory.

Marie ThomasGriffith, Chair of the Foundation’s Scholarship Committee, reported that among the schools scholarship students will attend are Michigan Technological University, University of the Virgin Islands, Villanova University, Johnson & Wales, Northeastern University, Bryn Mawr College, the University of Miami, and American University.  Recipients will major in a variety of fields of study, including Nursing, Hospitality Management, Biology, Economics, Environmental Engineering, and Pharmacy.

CFVI has awarded scholarships to Virgin Islands students since 1996.   The Foundation is looking to get in touch with as many of CFVI past scholarship recipients as possible, and asks that “Scholarship Alumni” contact the Foundation at 774-6031 or visit our website at

For almost 25 years, the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands has been bringing positive change to the Territory through programs committed to youth, learning, family support and the environment.  With a full time staff and a Board of Directors composed of volunteer local community leaders, CFVI is a leading advocate and supporter of programs that give children the best starts possible while ensuring opportunity and sustainability for our community in the future.  CFVI operates or funds close to 50 community programs including The Family Connection, Kids Count data book, teacher grants, and emergency grants for families, for seniors, and for medical assistance.  CFVI is a registered non-profit entirely supported by individual donors, trusts, corporate donations and estate planning.

Please find the list of all recipients and their scholarships below:

Last Name: First Name: Scholarship
Gumbs Aaron Milan & Aliki Glumidge Memorial Scholarship
Frett Alvante Milan & Aliki Glumidge Memorial Scholarship
Dessout Alliyah Milan & Aliki Glumidge Memorial Scholarship
McCammon Amber Lana Vento Scholarship
Pickering-Haynes Ajayi Sen. Marvin A. Blyden Scholarship
Cintron Alex Heavy Materials Scholarship
Athanase Alexander Anna Greene Walsh Scholarship
Krigger Amali Falek Family Fund Scholarship
Abiff An’Nisaa Investing in the Future Scholarship
Burgess Andréa Heavy Materials Scholarship
Calvin Angelette Anna Greene Walsh Scholarship
Forbes Anthonio Lana Vento Scholarship
Agathe Areannah Anna Greene Walsh Scholarship
Lacdao Bernadine Alexander A. Farrelly Scholarship
Richards Caprisha Heavy Materials Scholarship
Shabazz Cathriellah Anna Greene Walsh Scholarship
Jarvis Chloe’ Anna Greene Walsh Scholarship
McDonald Christopher Anna Greene Walsh Scholarship
Cameron Dejane Sen. Marvin A. Blyden Scholarship
Foster Deyjah Lana Vento Scholarship
Henriquez-Pilier Emely CAHS Class of 1951 Scholarship
Callwood Genisa Sen. Marvin A. Blyden Scholarship
Collier Isis Charles Lynch Music Scholarship
Hodge Janelle Isaac & Rebecca Paiewonsky Scholarship
Barry Jan-Alexis Lana Vento Scholarship
Dias-Hines Je’Quan Sen. Marvin A. Blyden Scholarship
Devera Jean Lawrence Anna Greene Walsh Scholarship
Sujanani Jeanna McBride Family Scholarship
Gumbs Jemica J. Raymond Jones Scholarship
Stapleton Jenisha Lana Vento Scholarship
Casimir Jershawn Sen. Marvin A. Blyden Scholarship
Lake Joash Isaac & Rebecca Paiewonsky Scholarship
Willis Kamille CAHS Class of 1951 Scholarship
Frederick Kelly Anna Greene Walsh Scholarship
Wallace Kharid Anna Greene Walsh Scholarship
Durant Kielar Heavy Materials Scholarship
Smith Linda NSL Graduate Studies
King Leayrohn Theodore E. Sharp Scholar Award
Buendia Mary Sen. Marvin A. Blyden Scholarship
Meersman Nathan Coral World Scholarship
Xavier Pernilia Tunick Family Fund Scholarship
Piper Patricia Heavy Materials Scholarship
Charlery Rayann Sen. Marvin A. Blyden Scholarship
Innis Rena Milan & Aliki Glumidge Memorial Scholarship
Deserve Samantha Milan & Aliki Glumidge Memorial Scholarship
Liburd Samuel Falek Family Fund Scholarship
Dawson Seymour Isaac & Rebecca Paiewonsky Scholarship
Anthony Shabree Anna Greene Walsh Scholarship
Varlack Shaedaya Sen. Marvin A. Blyden Scholarship
Fenton Shaquanee’ Heavy Materials Scholarship
Jacobs Sherika Artrelle M. Wheatley Scholarship
Liburd, Jr. Stuart Heavy Materials Scholarship
Huyghue Tori Isaac & Rebecca Paiewonsky Scholarship
Richards Tiffany Heavy Materials Scholarship

Categories: CFVI Highlights

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: